DIY EFI/ITB… How exactly ? Pt. 2 – Fuel

IMG_1612

Let’s get on to the fuel system details. I will be using the stock Triumph injectors (from Sagem) that came with the throttle bodies as they have enough capacity to fuel, my otherwise stock, 2.7L engine.

As I already have injection on board (K-Jetronic), the existing fuel pump supplies enough pressure (about 5 bar) to feed the injectors, so one less expense… After the pump, fuel accumulator and filter, fuel will reach the fuel rails that supply the injectors. Those will be from an early Boxster. They’re not the prettiest (in the Boxster they’re hidden), but are cheap, readily available and… have the right size with absolutely no mods needed !

After passing through the rails, fuel will reach a pressure regulator. I will probably replace the one from the Boxster with an adjustable one to make sure I get the pressure I want (likely 3 bar). Finally before reaching the return line, I will add a Sytek one way valve. With it I hope to prevent the hard warm starts that I often experience. They’re due to a vapor lock condition on account of the fuel pump being close to the engine. What were they thinking at Porsche, back then ?

About Paulo Rebordão

Car nut, Audio nut Works in IT to pay the bills...
This entry was posted in Cars, Gadgets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment